Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join
Fair Trade: Sunset Review - Final Stage

Fair Trade: Sunset Review - Final Stage

October 2016

Data Submission For Final Stage in the 5-Year Expiry Review of the Aluminum Extrusion Trade Orders


In the continuation of the process of filing the petition seeking an extension of its existing trade orders against Chinese aluminum extruders, the U.S. International Trade Commission (USITC) soon will be sending a questionnaire to U.S. extruders. The questionnaires are for the purpose of renewing our trade orders against Chinese aluminum extruders. It is extremely important that we have strong participation and data from U.S. extruders for this next submission in the sunset review.


The greater the percentage of the market we can report, the stronger our arguments. The AEC Fair Trade Committee will be looking for submissions from all of the original petitioners, AEC member extruders, and even non-member extruders. A special message for the original petitioners: it is extremely important we get your updated data!


Below are links to the DRAFT ITC Sunset Review questionnaires so that respondents can begin gathering the data needed. Although they are not final, we anticipate that the content will change very little. Final questionnaires are expected by the end of October, after which respondents will have 30 days to submit their data. Please watch for a Trade Alert from AEC announcing the release of the final questionnaires or check back here for the final versions later in October.


>> (DRAFT) ITC Sunset US Producer Questionnaire


>> (DRAFT) ITC Sunset US Importers Questionnaire


Important: DO NOT send your data to AEC!


Be sure to review the Kick-Off webinar recording for a detailed explanation of the process and what will be expected.


October 4, 2016    Scheduling notice 
October 11, 2016   Comments on Draft Questionnaires
Anticipated End of October   Final Questionnaires Issued to Parties 
November 30, 2016   Questionnaire Responses Due 
January 10, 2017   Prehearing Report Issued 
January 18, 2017   Prehearing Briefs 
January 19, 2017   Request to appear at Hearing 
January 25, 2017   Prehearing Conference 
January 26, 2017   Hearing
February 6, 2017   Post-Hearing Briefs 
February 23, 2017   Report to the Commission (APO Release) 
March 1, 2017   APO Release
March 3, 2017   Final Comments
March 10, 2017   Commission Vote
March 27, 2017   Determination Expected

Help Chain/Kick-Off Webinar

We hosted a kickoff webinar on Tuesday, October 18, 2016 to introduce and go over the questionnaire, as well as cover any questions.  You can view the webinar on demand by following the link below.


>> Sunset Review - Final Stage Kick-Off Webinar Recording


There may be very specific questions you have that are better asked and answered privately. So, our key contacts at Wiley Rein for this project will be available:


Robert DeFrancesco

Derick Holt

Paul Zucker


Of course, you may call Jeff Henderson as well, but remember that AEC staff cannot be a data collector nor should we be your source to answer questions pertaining to your data submission.

We want to remind and thank the industry for what it has done in this case. It is now clear, that if we had not filed our case, the Chinese would be the dominate supplier in the U.S. market. Failure to win a renewal would be catastrophic for our industry. This is especially true in light of how we have seen the Chinese aluminum market behave over the last five years. So, don’t miss this opportunity to help yourself and the industry maintain a strong position by keeping illegal and unfair imports from China out of our market!


Association Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal