Print Page | Sign In | Join
Webinar: Metal Flow Fundamentals
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

9/27/2018
When: Thursday, September 27, 2018
1:00 PM
Where: United States
Contact: Lisse Jurcenko

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Metal Flow Fundamentals

Speaker: Jerome Fourmann, Rio Tinto Aluminium
Thursday, September 27, 2018
2:00 p.m. EDT (1:00 p.m. CDT, 11:00 a.m. PDT)
Hosted by: AEC

It looks so easy when the extrusion process is portrayed as an overgrown playdoh press.  But there is a lot that happens and must be considered when a heated aluminum cylinder (a billet) is loaded into an extrusion press and forced through a small, complex, opening at extreme pressure.
 
This webinar will cover the fundamentals of aluminum metal flow through the container and the die allowing a comprehensive understanding of the challenges in ensuring prescribed quality and part performance.  Particular attention will be paid to welds – both billet-to-billet and in the formation of hollow shapes – and to the challenges of wider profiles.  We will also review the press practices that can be the root causes of potential defects and how they are managed for various extrusion applications.  

This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.